Paula's Pie Project Blog

52 different pies in 52 weeks

Pie #57- Parmesan and Spinach February 10, 2013

Filed under: 2013 Pie Project,Pie #57- Parmesan & Spinach,Savory Pies — paulaspieproject @ 1:08 pm
Tags: , ,

Rolling dough with my broken rolling pin, this is how #57 started out.  It is do-able, but not ideal. I have had this baby since my single days of living alone in my Lakewood apartment. It was a housewarming gift from my mother, the pie queen.  Sadly, it looks as if it is time for this beloved kitchen utensil to go into retirement.

My broken tool!

After starting out 2013 with four sweet pies in a row, I was glad to finally welcome the first savory pie of the year. I found this recipe on Food Network’s website a few years back and was eager to try it out.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/parmesan-and-spinach-pie-recipe/index.html

Cooking th filling

Spinach, onion, bacon & parmesan on the stovetop

Pie pastry in a springform pan

Pie pastry in a springform pan

Adding the filling to the pastry shell

Adding the filling to the pastry shell

Ready for the oven

Top layer of pastry now on. Ready for the oven

Pie #57- Parmesan and Spinach

Pie #57- Parmesan and Spinach

Personal Notes:

  • I used the bacon instead of pancetta since I had it on hand. My family loves this particular pork product so I added 1 cup instead of the 1/4 cup  in hopes that it would offset the huge amount of spinach that was in the pie. (The boys were less than impressed.)
  • When baked, this became a really dense pie. I felt like I was getting two servings of vegetables in my one serving slice.
  • Yum! I would definitely make this one again. I happen to serve it for dinner one evening, but I would definitely make it for lunch or breakfast.
 

One Response to “Pie #57- Parmesan and Spinach”

  1. Enjoyed this one very much. It was the centerpiece of a great dinner and thanks to my spinach-averse boys, I was able to have some for lunch a couple days hence. Ag-ga-ga-ga-ga-ga! (My lame attempt at typing the Popeye laugh)


Leave a comment